When preparing an Urtext edition, an editor might be confronted with some rather strange questions.
 ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌ ‌
  Cannot see the images? View as Webpage
29.03.2019 Issue  2-2019 / Imprint
What is original? Searching for the Urtext
Dear Reader,
When preparing an Urtext edition, an editor might be confronted with some rather strange questions.
For instance, what should be done if a work by one composer - in this case the paraphrase of a work by an earlier composer - is more popular in a version by another person than the paraphrase by the author in question? And in addition, supposing this popular version is closer to the work that was paraphrased at the outset? Does this sound unrealistic?
The work in question is Pablo de Sarasate's "Carmen-Fantasy". All of the details concerning this particular problem as well as the creative solution we found for our Urtext edition are laid out by our editor Peter Jost in his latest » post on the Henle blog.
Information about other new Urtext editions, which also often involve these kinds of deliberations, as well as the latest news from the publishing house can be found in the following newsletter.
With very best wishes

Dr. Wolf-Dieter Seiffert
Managing Director
Join us now
»New Publications Keyboard Instruments
»New Publications String Instruments
»Further New Publications
»Music Fair Frankfurt 2019
»Catalogue of New Publications Spring 2019
»Henle Piano Competition goes into its final weeks
»Henle Blog - the latest posts
New Publications Keyboard Instruments
 to top
Ludwig van Beethoven
Piano Sonata no. 2 A major op. 2 no. 2
Editor: Norbert Gertsch, Editor: Murray Perahia
Urtext Edition, paperbound
At the heart of this A-major Sonata is the well-known, profound Largo appassionato movement, whose staccato bass line is reminiscent of double bass pizzicati. It stands in stark contrast to the nimble Rondo-Finale.
» read more
Frédéric Chopin
Scherzo E major op. 54
Editor: Norbert Müllemann, Fingering: Hans-Martin Theopold
Urtext Edition, paperbound
When compared with its predecessors, which were largely bleak in mood, this Scherzo no. 4 is surprisingly cheerful. With its sparkling runs and its chains of chords like dappled brush strokes, this work seems to summon up the fairy-like spirit of Mendelssohn's scherzi. In editorial terms, however, it is problematical.
» read more
New Publications String Instruments
 to top
Gabriel Fauré
Romance A major op. 69 for Violoncello and Piano
Editor: Jean-Christophe Monnier, Fingering and bowing for Violoncello: David Geringas
Urtext Edition, paperbound
This brief, utterly charming and tuneful piece was probably committed to paper in 1894. After its first performance in November 1894 the piece rapidly became popular and is a well-loved encore piece at concerts today.
» read more
Further New Publications
 to top
Bedrich Smetana
Piano Trio g minor op. 15
Editor: Milan Pospísil, Fingering: Klaus Schilde
Urtext Edition, paperbound
When Smetana composed his Piano trio in the autumn of 1855, it was an act of catharsis to recover from the death of his four-year-old daughter Friederike. This highly emotional work was also his first large-scale piece of chamber music.
» read more
Music Fair Frankfurt 2019
The international Music Fair is just around the corner. From 2nd to 5th April 2019 the music fair will be opening its doors to trade visitors and musicians every day (Tuesday to Friday) in Frankfurt am Main.
We will be unveiling a great many new Urtext editions and scholarly publications. In addition, you can try out a completely new musical experience at our booth in Hall 3.1: our "Henle Library" app.
 » information for visitors to the music fair
 to top
Catalogue of New Publications Spring 2019
You can take a peek at our upcoming publications in this preview. It contains all of the Henle Urtext editions which are about to be published.
You can order a free print copy, download a PDF of the catalogue or browse through it online.
 » download, order or browse
 to top
Henle Piano Competition goes into its final weeks
The Henle Piano Competition for children between the ages of 6 and 11 is open until 1st May 2018. So there's still some time to make a video of your child playing a piano piece by Béla Bartók, to upload it to YouTube and send us the completed online registration form.
We look forward to seeing your videos!
 » information about the piano competition
 to top
Henle Blog - the latest posts
18 March 2019
Is that still Urtext? On an often played variant in Sarasate's "Carmen Fantasy"
» read more
4 March 2019
Carnival: Henle goes green - environmental protection and animal rescue at Henle
» read more
18 February 2019
Bordering on the modern - The Urtext edition of Schumann's "Myrthen" op. 25
» read more
4 February 2019
Version alert! Or: Did Brahms ever revise his Horn Trio?
» read more
 to top
If you no longer wish to receive regular email updates, please click here:
 »  Unsubscribe
G. Henle Verlag e.K., Forstenrieder Allee 122, 81476 Munich, Germany
info@henle.de, Phone: +49 (0)89-7 59 82-0
Managing Director: Dr. Wolf-Dieter Seiffert
Companies’ Register County Court Munich: HRA 8808
VAT-No.: DE 129521149
G. Henle and data protection
Copyright 2019 © G. Henle Verlag e.K. | All rights reserved.